Working for better health care in New Zealand

The Association of Salaried Medical Specialists (ASMS) is the professional association and union uniting doctors and dentists in New Zealand.

  • About ASMS

National Executive & Staff

National Executive

National Office Staff

Interviews with Past-Presidents

ASMS branch representatives


The ASMS has a democratic structure with branches whose boundaries usually coincide with those of each DHB. The top decision and policy making body is the Annual Conference.

Most branches are managed by an elected local committee who also select delegates to attend Annual Conference. Between conferences, management of the Association lies with an elected National Executive of ten members. They are elected every three years.

The President and Vice President are elected by national postal ballot. The other eight members of the National Executive are regional representatives elected by members within their region. The National Executive elects one of its members to be National Secretary.

National Executive Specialty District Health Board Region
Dr Hein Stander President Paediatrician Tairawhiti Gisborne – Wellington
Dr Julian Fuller Vice President Anaesthetist Waitemata Auckland – North
Dr Carolyn Fowler Anaesthetist Counties Manukau Auckland – North
Dr Jeff Hoskins Anaesthetist Waikato Hamilton – Whakatane
Dr Paul Wilson Anaesthetist Bay of Plenty Hamilton – Whakatane
Dr Tim Frendin Internal Medicine Hawke's Bay Gisborne – Wellington
Dr Jeff Brown Secretary Paediatrician MidCentral Gisborne – Wellington
Dr Seton Henderson Intensive Care Canterbury South Island
Dr Murray Barclay Gastroentorologist Canterbury South Island
Dr Julie Prior Emergency Medicine Waitemata Auckland – North

Read more on our National Executive here.


At our National Office we employ 17 staff members:

National Office Staff
Ian Powell  Executive Director
Angela Belich  Deputy Executive Director
Cushla Managh  Communications Director
Henry Stubbs  Senior Industrial Officer
Lloyd Woods Senior Industrial Officer
Steve Hurring  Industrial Officer
Sarah Dalton  Industrial Officer
Ian Weir-Smith  Industrial Officer
Dianne Vogel  Industrial Officer
Sharlene Lawrence  Assistant Executive Officer
Maria Cordalis  Support Services Coordinator
Kathy Eaden  Membership Support Officer
Saasha Everiss Membership Administrator
Lydia Schumacher  Communications Advisor
Lyndon Keene Director of Policy and Research
Charlotte Chambers Principal Analyst (Policy & Research)


Below are short videos of each of the staff members explaining either the aims/objectives of ASMS or their roles within the organisation:

Ian Powell – Executive Director

Angela Belich – Deputy Executive Director

Henry Stubbs – Senior Industrial Officer

Lloyd Woods – Industrial Officer

Kathy Eaden – Membership Support Officer



Northland Ian Page Lisa Dawson
Waitemata Jonathan Casement Ywain Lawrey
Auckland Brigid Connor Julian Vyas
Counties Manukau Helen Frith Sylvia Boys
Waikato Annette van Zeist-Jongman Annie Abraham
Lakes Andrew Klava Andrew Robinson
Tauranga Matthias Seidel Rod Gouldson
Whakatane Richard Forster Guy Rosset
Taranaki Campbell White Allan Binnie
Tairawhiti Angela Freschini Mary Stonehouse
Hawke’s Bay Kai Haidekker Debra Chalmers
Whanganui Bernd Kraus Mark Van de Vyver
Palmerston North Andy Spiers John Bourke
Wairarapa Norman Gray Naser Abdul-Ghaffar
Hutt Valley Neil Stephen Jeff Suen
Wellington Justin Barry-Walsh Sinead Donnelly
Nelson Clive Garlick Vacant
Marlborough Jeremy Stevens By-election in progress
West Coast Paul Holt Stuart Mologne
Canterbury Anja Werno Geoffrey Shaw
South Canterbury Matthew Hills Peter Doran
Otago Chris Wisely John Chambers
Southland Tim Mackay Roger Wandless