Working for better health care in New Zealand

The Association of Salaried Medical Specialists (ASMS) is the professional association and union uniting doctors and dentists in New Zealand.

  • ASMS 30th Anniversary Conference

ASMS 30th Anniversary Conference

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of the formation of ASMS held a special commemorative conference on the theme of why a public health service is worth fighting for on Thursday 27 June in Wellington (Te Papa).

One of the world’s leading authorities on the operation of health systems, Professor Martin McKee, gave the keynote address to the conference. Professor McKee is from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, read his profile below.

The second international speaker was Dr Otmar Kloiber, Secretary General of the World Medical Association, who spoke on medical migration, in the context of the conference theme.

The Minister of Health Hon Dr David Clark also addressed the conference.

See the conference programme here.

Speaker bio sheet


Keynote address: Professor Martin McKee, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
Introduced and facilitated by Margie Apa, Chief Executive Counties Manukau District Health Board
Panel discussion:
– Dr Curtis Walker (Chair of the Medical Council of New Zealand, and MidCentral DHB renal physician)
– Dr Katie Ben (ASMS National Executive and Nelson DHB anaesthetist)
– Dr Brigid Connor (Former ASMS Auckland Branch President, former RDA President, and Auckland DHB radiologist)
Q & A with Professor McKee

Minister of Health: Hon Dr David Clark
Introduced and facilitated by Dr John Bonning, President-Elect of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM), Chair of the Council of Medical Colleges, and emergency physician at Waikato Hospital
Q & A with Hon Dr David Clark

Dr Otmar Kloiber, Secretary General of the World Medical Association
Introduced and facilitated by Dr Curtis Walker, Chair of the Medical Council of New Zealand
Panel discussion:
– Dr Tanya Wilton (ASMS Hutt Valley Branch Vice President and emergency physician at Hutt Valley DHB)
– Dr Debra Chalmers (ASMS Hawke’s Bay Branch Vice President and Hawke’s Bay DHB intensive care)
– Dr Jeff Brown (Paediatrician MidCentral DHB, Clinical Executive for Uru Pā Harakeke (Healthy Women Children and Youth cluster), New Zealand President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, former ASMS National President)

Dr Samantha Murton – President, the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners
Introduced by Dr Sara Moeke, salaried general practitioner and former RDA President
Panel discussion:
– Dr Siobhan Cross (ASMS Canterbury Branch Vice President and paediatrician)
– Dr Sylvia Boys (ASMS Counties Manukau Branch President and emergency physician)
– Fraser Jeffery (President, Medical Students Association)