ASMS

We are the union for salaried doctors and dentists.

We promote, protect and support the interests of our members in all aspects of their working lives. We are working for an equitable, accessible public health care system that meets the needs of all New Zealanders.

  • Employment & Advice

DHB Employment Conditions

ASMS DHB MECA

The Association is a registered union that advises and represents members in respect of their employment agreements. It has negotiated collective employment agreements with all public hospitals and some with other employers. Where there is no collective agreement, the Association will advise members when they negotiate their own individual employment agreements.

According to our membership rules we may represent any doctor that is salaried and who requires an annual practising certificate to perform their salaried job, apart from those who work in universities, or government departments (excluding ACC).

The ASMS DHB MECA sets out the terms and conditions for working as a specialist in New Zealand’s public hospitals.

Browse/Search the DHB MECA

Industrial Officer contact information

If you have any other queries about an aspect of your employment, please contact your  ASMS industrial officer on +64 4 499 1271 or via email as below;

Miriam Long, Industrial Officermiriam.long@asms.org.nz

Northland, Waitemata

Steve Hurring, Senior Industrial Officer – steve.hurring@asms.org.nz

Counties Manukau, Waikato, Bay of Plenty

Georgia Choveaux, Industrial Officer – georgia.choveaux@asms.org.nz

Auckland

Phil Dyhrberg, Industrial Officer – phil.dyhrberg@asms.org.nz

Whanganui, Lakes, Hawke’s Bay, Tairawhiti, Taranaki

Ian Weir-Smith, Industrial Officer – ian.weir-smith@asms.org.nz

MidCentral, Wairarapa, Hutt Valley, Capital & Coast, Nelson Marlborough

George Collins, Industrial Officer – george.collins@asms.org.nz

Canterbury, South Canterbury, Southern, West Coast

Lloyd Woods, Senior Industrial Officer – lloyd.woods@asms.org.nz

MECA

Henry Stubbs – Senior Industrial Officer – henry.stubbs@asms.org.nz

Medico-Legal issues

Download the DHB MECA